Pure music enjoyment
Gabríel Ólafs Absent minded

Oktober 10, 2019

When the days get shorter, sitting by the window on a gray rainy day with a cup of tea or coffee and a few biscuits to dream of the next Icelandic vacation, then this music just fits perfectly. Calm, relaxing, soulful it carries the thoughts away from everydays life to the new or past

This music enjoyment is due to a young Icelander. The 20- year-old Gabríel Ólafs has been playing the piano since he was 5 years old. He had already composed the basic melody of the title song 'Absent minded' at the age of 14 and refined it further over the last 6 years.

The story behind the melodies

Often small stories hide behind the melodies. Gabríel tells in an interview with the Berlin radio station Radio 1 that 'Staircase sonata' (the 4th track in the playlist) was written on a really stormy day. If an Icelander speaks of a 'really bad storm', one can assume that the weather was almost an end to the world.At that time Gabriel's studio was on the ground floor of a house and was flooded by the water masses of the storm. All equipment and especially his beloved piano stood in a huge pool of water. When the fire department came, it pulled the piano out of the water and put it in the staircase. Gabríel sat down, started playing and was inspired by the beautiful reverb the music created within in the staircase. That was the hour of birth of 'Staircase Sonata'.

Published: 30.August 2019 | Label: One Little Indian Records

If you like the CD as much as I do or who might be looking for a (Christmas) gift idea for an Icelandic fan, you can buy Absent Minded here.

Purer Musikgenuss
Gabríel Ólafs Absent minded

10. Oktober, 2019

Wenn die Tage kürzer werden, man an einem grauen Regentag bei einer Tasse Tee oder Kaffee und ein paar Keksen am Fenster sitzt um vom nächsten Islandurlaub zu träumen, dann passt diese Musik einfach perfekt. Ruhig, entspannend, gefühlvoll trägt sie die Gedanken weg vom Alltag hin zu Neuem oder bereits Vergangenem.

Zu verdanken ist dieser Musikgenuss einem jungen Isländer. Der 20jährige Gabríel Ólafs spielt seit seinem 5ten Lebensjahr Klavier. Die Grundmelodie des Titelsongs 'Absent minded' hat er bereits im Alter von 14 Jahren komponiert und im Laufe der letzten 6 Jahre immer weiter verfeinert.

Die Geschichte(n) hinter den Melodien

Hinter den Melodien verbergen sich oft kleine Geschichten. Gabríel erzählt in einem Interview mit dem Berliner Sender Radio 1, dass 'Staircase sonata' (der 4te Titel in der Playlist) an einem wirklich stürmischen Tag entstanden ist. Wenn ein Isländer von einem 'really bad storm' redet, kann man davon ausgehen, dass das Wetter wohl nahezu einem Weltuntergang gleichkam. Gabriels Studio lag zu dieser Zeit im Erdgeschoss eines Hauses und wurde durch die Wassermassen des Unwetters geflutet. Sämtliche Ausstattung und vor allem sein geliebtes Piano standen in einer riesigen Wasserlache. Als die Feuerwehr kam, zog sie das Piano aus dem Wasser und stellte es in den Treppenaufgang. Gabríel setzte sich daran, begann zu spielen und wurde durch den wunderschönen Hall den die Musik im Treppenhaus erzeugte zu der Melodie zu 'Staircase Sonata' inspiriert.

Erschienen am: 30.August 2019 | Label: One Little Indian Records

Wem die CD genauso gut gefällt wie mir oder wer eventuell gerade nach einer (Weihnachts-) Geschenkidee für einen einem Islandfan sucht, der kann die CD Absent Minded hier kaufen.